Amigurumi and my love of cephalopods.

Hats are probably still my favorite thing to make, but I have become quite fond of the art of amigurumi.   I hate following patterns for it though.   I generally end up working through a pattern once, and then reworking the item until I’m satisfied with it.   I’m a bit of a perfectionist.   Most of the time, I just try to get a picture of what I want in my head and wing it.  Lately, I’ve been making a lot of little octopus and squid pieces.   I’ve always adored cephalopods in general.  Once, a few years ago(2014), I remember a museum in New Zealand live streamed a dissection of a colossal squid.  It was something like three hours long and I watched every second of it.   I just find them incredibly fascinating.   And I think the reason that I find cephalopods so very fun to work with in crochet is because you can shape them in so many different ways.  You can make them small and cute like the ones I’ve made in the picture below, or you can make them large and sort of almost realistic with long tentacles in different variations of curl and stretch.  I’ve been experimenting with the later of the two recently.   I have a goal of eventually making the most realistic looking cephalopods, perhaps even as a giant pillow plush sort of structure.  If you crochet, do you have any particular fondness of certain animals or goals associated with amigurumi?cephalopods

Leave a Reply

